Tribut an Carl Benz e.V. Karlsruhe

The Birthplace

The Prehistory of a Sensational Discovery

Near the end of November 2010, I wrote “Sad but true – no one will ever be able to deliver final proof regarding the birthplace of Carl Benz.”

The ensuing developments four months later go to show just how wrong a person can be.

But first things first:

For more than 10 years now, the “Tribute to Carl Benz” association has made numerous attempts to solve this mystery.

Nevertheless, the more that one dealt with this topic, the more apparent it became that the clarification of this question would be of no communal or corporate philosophical relevance, neither at the beginning of the triumphal march of the automobile nor during Benz’s lifetime (who knew just as little about the matter). In addition, solid evidence of serious research does not exist.

Very surprising.

Every hometown of a comparatively important person from contemporary history usually adorns itself with this historical event anyway – which is best symbolized by the birthplace or the location, at a minimum.

On the other hand, a corporation whose reputation is inextricably linked to the name Benz should have an increased interest in the clarification of this remaining “blank spot” in an otherwise conclusively documented corporate history – since the fusion of both Benz and Daimler in 1926, at the latest.

With that being said, it surprised me even less that Mannheim and Ladenburg are alternately named as birthplaces. This fact is not even anchored within the collective memories of the natives of Karlsruhe, the automobile pioneer’s true birthplace. In particular, those residents of the western districts (to which the formerly independent municipality Mühlburg belongs to) where a commemorative plaque was mounted for public view by the local civic association in 1933.

The plaque itself makes no mention whatsoever that this is in fact true or even assumed in a broader sense.

Gedenktafel Drais

Gedenktafel Drais

For this reason, it appears less odd that a plaque for the second Karlsruhe pioneer of mobility, Karl Friedrich Freiherr Drais, was incorrectly mounted at Hebelstrasse 4. The correct location is Zähringerstrasse 63.

Instead of correcting this proven error, it is tacitly accepted without any objections whatsoever.

Let’s get back to the real issue:

In light of the preliminary planning for the Automobilsommer 2011, I first contacted the director of the Karlsruhe City Museum, Dr. Pretsch, in early August 2010 to inform him of the results of our activities thus far. Both in terms of an external representation of the relationship Benz to his hometown that lacks refinement, as well as the unsuccessful efforts until now to locate the house where he was born. For the longest time, I had to assume that this building had fallen victim to either the war or extensive urbanization efforts during the 50’s and 60’s. The search inevitably concentrated on its location.

A few days later, Dr. Pretsch was able to report a first major success. For the first time, and unlike all previous historians, he elected to research the Mühlburg parish register – with the aim of identifying little Carl’s godfathers.

He actually found them – the first one listed was Michael Kramer, innkeeper and brewer in Mühlburg and the second was master shoemaker Karl Axtmann from the then neighboring city of Karlsruhe.

Gasthaus

At the same time, Michael Kramer was unequivocally identified as the owner of the “zum Weinsberg” restaurant (later renamed to the “Stadt Karlsruhe” Inn). At that time, the premises were large and spacious compared to other domestic architecture in Mühlburg.

Finally – a promising and scientifically sound lead, more than 160 years after the birth of Carl Benz!

It is relatively certain that Josephine Benz, née Vaillant, spent the majority of her working life as a maid up until 1844.

The servant ordinances of the 19th century bear testimony that the employer is obligated to provide for the welfare of his employees, as well as provide room, board and wages (generally very low wages) in return for the services rendered.

This mixture of legal obligation and low pay meant that service personnel and the employer often lived under one roof together with the employer’s family.

Subsequently drawing upon the conclusion that Josephine Benz had found shelter with Michael Kramer due to a lack of alternatives and financial possibilities, the Daimler Company archives were informed of these findings in November 2011.

At that time, we estimated this theory to be more than 50% correct.

It was much too early to speak of a significant breakthrough, however. At best, this could be considered a respectable achievement.

This would also explain my skepticism towards this discourse. The following months would show just how justifiable my skepticism was.

Even so. We were able to approach the public and inform them of a tangible conjecture, exercising due caution in the process.

Dr. Pretsch managed to complement this chain of evidence by the end of February. At the same time, it must be mentioned that in addition to this research, other tasks were waiting to be completed at the City Museum and that the research activities did not focus solely on this topic.

This time it was an entry in the Karlsruhe servants directory, where the dismissal of Josephine Vaillant from the services of a merchant family were documented in September 1844, just a few weeks before birth of Carl Benz.

After that, there was no trace of her at all up until her marriage in 1845.

It can be assumed that the daughter of a Huguenot family, living in the then catholic denominational seat of royal power, would not have been able to give birth to a child fathered by a catholic out of wedlock without suffering certain personal repercussions. The termination of employment could have been a likely result of the given circumstances.

As a result, Josephine Benz was forced to disappear. In twofold, what seemed more reasonable than to select the neighboring Protestant dominated Mühlburg district as a hideaway and transitional new home?

This would create a whole new set of circumstances, however. A reassessment of this thesis would become necessary if we were to assume, based on the evidence gained thus far, that Josephine Benz had found a new employment opportunity.

Which economically minded employer would offer employment to an obviously pregnant woman during that time, especially if he was not obligated to do so in the first place? Not to mention the aggravating concomitant circumstances involved with this.

The second godparent’s name, Axtmann, suddenly attained groundbreaking importance near the end of March.

My internet research revealed unexpected evidence of a connection between the Benz and Axtmann families. In the Dees family chronicle, whose roots lie in Pfaffenrot, among other places, and from where the Benz family is descended from, it is mentioned that Karl Axtmann was not only a godparent, but also a witness to the marriage of Carl Benz’s parents.

I was not aware of the actual explosive force of this discovery at that particular moment.

I had become far too euphoric based on apparent evidence that a connection to a godparent had actually existed. In the process, I had forgotten to draw logical conclusions from this fact, as I would normally do otherwise.

But not Dr. Pretsch, whom I had immediately informed of my discovery.

Four days later I received a message: “We landed a direct hit. According to the General State Archives, not only is Karl Axtmann listed as a witness to the wedding, but Michael Kramer as well.”

Consequently, a close relationship had existed between the Benz and Kramer families, where this alliance could be deemed an expression of gratitude for providing accommodations at the time of birth and the first few months afterwards, provided the relationship was not based on an unproven past personal history.

This assessment, in my opinion, would have also applied to paid accommodations – most likely funded by the child’s father (Johann) Georg Friedrich Benz or his family.

The question that remains open, however, is the crosslink between the witnesses to the baptism and the wedding.

It is very unlikely that the artisan Axtmann knew the economically well-situated entrepreneur Kramer from his regular visits to the inn.

Time, money and the need for this were missing here. After all, there were a number of localities situated in the immediate city center vicinity of Spitalstraße 38 (Karlsruhe) where Axtmann once lived.

The reverse case appeared more feasible. Namely, that Kramer made his way from outlying Mühlburg to pick up a new supply of shoes or repair others.

Just as conceivable is information that Axtmann may have received while in a Karlsruhe inn, where a family member or professional colleague was said to reside in Mühlburg, subsequently establishing personal contact to said individuals.

A family relationship between Kramer and the Benz family is highly unlikely, however.

What we do know since early May, however, is that Carl Benz’s great-grandmother is an Axtmann by birth. This at least closes the open issue concerning the genetic connection between the Benz family and Axtmann.

As a result, the historical analysis is not entirely complete.

And who knows what other surprises lie in store for us.

Be that as it may – we would still be at an 1844 level of intelligence in this regard without the high degree of commitment and professionalism exhibited by Dr. Pretsch and his scientific research assistant, Mr. Meinrad Welker.

I wish to extend my sincere gratitude that this is not the case!

April 2011, Karlsruhe, Germany

Unterstützt von

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'wfWAFStorageFileException' with message 'Unable to verify temporary file contents for atomic writing.' in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:46 Stack trace: #0 /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(567): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/kunden/177302_...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig() #2 {main} thrown in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 46

Tribut an Carl Benz e.V. Karlsruhe

Das Geburtshaus

Vorgeschichte einer sensationellen Entdeckung

Ende November 2010 schrieb ich an dieser Stelle „Traurig aber wahr niemand wird mehr den endgültigen Beweis zum Standort des Geburtshauses von Carl Benz liefern können“.

Wie sehr man sich täuschen kann, zeigen die Entwicklungen gerade einmal vier Monate danach.

Aber der Reihe nach:

Seit mehr als 10 Jahren unternahm der Verein „Tribut an Carl Benz“ Anläufe, dieses Geheimnis zu lüften.

Doch je mehr man sich mit diesem Thema beschäftigte, desto deutlicher wurde, dass offenbar weder zu Beginn des Siegeszuges des Automobils, noch zu Lebzeiten von Benz (welcher dies ebenso wenig wusste) die Klärung dieser Frage von kommunaler oder konzernphilosophischer Relevanz war. Und ein belastbarer Beweis ernsthafter Recherchen ist nicht bekannt.

Höchst verwunderlich.

Schmückt sich doch üblicherweise jede Vaterstadt einer mehr oder weniger wichtigen Person der Zeitgeschichte mit dieser historischen Begebenheit – was durch deren Geburtshaus oder zumindest Standort am besten symbolisiert wird.

Zum anderen sollte ein Konzern, dessen Weltruf untrennbar mit dem Namen Benz verbunden ist, gesteigertes Interesse an der Klärung dieses verbliebenen weißen Flecks, in einer ansonsten lückenlos dokumentierten Firmenhistorie, haben.

Und dies spätestens seit Fusion der Häuser Benz und Daimler im Jahre 1926.

Vor diesem Hintergrund erstaunte es mich dann doch zunehmend weniger, dass wechselweise Mannheim und Ladenburg ebenso als Geburtsstadt genannt werden. Am wirklichen Standort der Wiege des Automobilpioniers dies allerdings nicht einmal im kollektiven Gedächtnis gebürtiger Karlsruher verankert ist.

Insbesondere Bewohner westlicher Stadtteile, wozu auch die ehedem selbstständige Gemeinde Mühlburg gehört, vermuten jenen dort, wo im Jahr 1933 vom hiesigen Bürgerverein eine Gedenktafel angebracht wurde.

Dabei besagt deren Inhalt mit keiner Silbe, dass dem so wäre oder bei großzügiger Auslegung zu vermuten sei.

Gedenktafel Drais

Gedenktafel Drais

Daher mutet es auch weniger seltsam an, dass ausgerechnet dem zweiten Karlsruher Wegbereiter der Mobilität, Karl Friedrich Freiherr Drais, eine Tafel mit dem erklärenden Hinweis auf sein Wohnhaus am falschen Ort, Hebelstrasse 4, angebracht wurde. Richtig ist die Zähringerstrasse 63.

Aber an Stelle den längst nachgewiesenen Fehler zu korrigieren, wird dieser stillschweigend und offenkundig widerspruchslos hingenommen.

Doch zurück zum eigentlichen Thema:

Anlässlich der Vorplanungen zum Automobilsommer 2011 nahm ich erstmals Anfang August 2010 mit dem Leiter des Karlsruher Stadtmuseums, Herrn Dr. Pretsch, Kontakt auf, um ihn über das Ergebnis unserer bisherigen Aktivitäten zu informieren. Sowohl in Bezug einer verbesserungswürdigen Außendarstellung der Beziehung Benz zu seiner Geburtsstadt, wie auch den bis dato erfolglosen Bemühungen der Suche nach seinem Geburtshaus. Dass dieses, wenn nicht bereits dem Krieg, dann spätestens im Rahmen umfangreicher städtebaulicher Veränderungen der 50er und 60er Jahre zum Opfer gefallen war, davon musste ich seit längerem ausgehen. So konzentrierte sich die Suche zwangsläufig nach dessen Standort.

Bereits wenige Tage später konnte Herr Dr. Pretsch den ersten Erfolg vermelden. Erstmals und anders als bei sämtlichen Historiker zuvor, erfolgte dessen Einstieg in die Recherche über das Mühlburger Kirchenbuch. Mit dem Ziel, mögliche Taufzeugen des kleinen Carl ausfindig zu machen.

Und tatsächlich – erst genannt fanden sich die Namen des Michael Kramer, Gastwirt und Bierbrauer in Mühlburg und zweit genannt des Schuhmachermeisters Karl Axtmann aus der damaligen Nachbarstadt Karlsruhe.

Gasthaus

Gasthaus „Stadt Karlsruhe“

Zeitgleich konnte die Wirtschaft „zum Weinberg“, dem späteren Gasthaus „Stadt Karlsruhe“ zweifelsfrei Michael Kramer als Eigentümer zugeordnet werden. Einem zu jener Zeit, im Vergleich sonstiger Mühlburger Bürgerhäuser, recht großen und weitläufigen Anwesen.

Mehr als 160 Jahre nach der Geburt von Carl Benz gab es erstmals eine heiße und wissenschaftlich fundierte Spur !

Als relativ sicher gilt, dass Josephine Benz, geb. Vaillant, den überwiegenden Teil Ihres Berufslebens bis 1844 als Dienstmädchen verbracht hatte.

Dienstbotenverordnungen des 19. Jahrhunderts geben Zeugnis, dass der Dienstherr, im Gegenzug für erbrachte Arbeit, neben einem in der Regel geringen Lohn, eine Fürsorgepflicht zu tragen, sowie um Kost und Logis seiner Angestellten zu kümmern habe.

Diese Mischung aus gesetzlicher Verpflichtung und geringen Entgelt führte dazu, dass Dienstpersonal und Dienstherr, nebst dessen Familie, oftmals unter einem Dach wohnten.

Mit der hieraus zu ziehenden Schlussfolgerung, dass Josephine Benz, in Ermangelung von Alternativen und auf Grund begrenzter finanzieller Möglichkeiten, bei Michael Kramer wohl Unterschlupf gefunden hatte, wurde im November 2011 das Konzernarchiv des Hauses Daimler über den bis dorthin gewonnenen Ergebnisstand informiert.

Zu dieser Zeit bezifferten wir die Richtigkeit der These auf immerhin deutlich mehr als 50 %.

Von einem wirklichen Durchbruch zu reden, wäre jedoch entschieden zu früh gewesen. Bestenfalls handelte es sich um einen Achtungserfolg.

Daher erklärt sich auch meine Skepsis Eingangs dieser Abhandlung. Wie sehr diese berechtigt war, sollte sich dann auch in den folgenden Monaten zeigen.

Immerhin. Wir konnten mit einer konkreten Vermutung an die Öffentlichkeit gehen und diese mit aller gebotenen Vorsicht informieren.

Ende Februar gelang es Herrn Dr. Pretsch die Indizienkette weiter zu ergänzen. Dabei muss erwähnt werden, dass parallel zu diesen Recherchen andere Aufgaben auf deren Erledigung durch das Stadtmuseum warteten und sich die Forschungsarbeit keinesfalls ausschließlich auf dieses Thema konzentrierten.

Diesmal war es ein Eintrag im Karlsruher Dienstbotenverzeichnis, aus welchem im September 1844, also wenige Wochen vor der Geburt, die Entlassung von Josephine Vaillant aus den Diensten einer Kaufmannsfamilie dokumentiert ist.

Danach verliert sich Ihre Spur bis zur Heirat 1845.

Anzunehmen ist, dass die Tochter einer Hugenottenfamilie in der damals konfessionell katholisch geprägten Residenzstadt das ehelose Kind eines Katholiken nicht ohne persönliche Anfeindungen hätte zur Welt bringen  können. Die Beendigung des Dienstverhältnisses könnte also eine wahrscheinliche Folge gegebener Umstände gewesen sein.

Josephine Benz musste demnach aus der Stadt verschwinden. Was lag also im doppelten Sinne näher, als das benachbarte protestantisch dominierte Mühlburg als Zufluchtsort und übergangsweise neue Heimat zu wählen ?

Damit stellte sich allerdings ein neuer Sachverhalt dar. Mussten wir auf  Grund der bislang gewonnenen Indizienlage davon ausgehen, dass Josephine Benz ein Anstellungsverhältnis gefunden hatte, so bedurfte es nun einer Neubewertung dieser These.

Welcher wirtschaftlich denkende Arbeitgeber bot zu jener Zeit einer absehbar Hochschwangeren ein Dienstverhältnis an – zumal wenn er hierzu offenkundig nicht verpflichet war ? Von den erschwerenden Begleitumständen mal ganz abgesehen.

Ende März erlangte plötzlich der Name des zweiten Taufzeugen Axtmann wegweisende Bedeutung.

Meine Internetrecherchen ergaben unerwartet den Nachweis einer Verbindung der Familien Benz und Axtmann. In der Chronik einer Familie Dees, deren Wurzeln unter anderem in Pfaffenrot lagen und woher auch die Familie Benz entstammt, wird erwähnt, dass Karl Axtmann nicht nur Tauf-, sondern später auch Trauzeuge der Hochzeit der Eltern von Carl Benz war.

Die wirkliche Brisanz der Entdeckung war mir in diesem Moment nicht einmal bewusst.

War ich offenkundig doch zu sehr vom Augenscheinlichen, nämlich dem Beweis einer Beziehung wenigstens zu einem der Taufzeugen, euphorisiert. Dabei vergaß ich, ganz im Gegensatz meiner sonstigen Gewohnheit, hieraus weitere logische Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen.

Nicht so Dr. Pretsch, welchem ich meine Entdeckung umgehend mitteilte.

Vier Tage danach erhielt ich sinngemäß die Nachricht: „Wir haben einen Volltreffer gelandet. Laut Generallandesarchiv werden als Trauzeuge nicht nur Karl Axtmann, sondern auch Michael Kramer genannt“.

Es bestand somit auch eine engere Beziehung der Familien Benz und Kramer, welche, wenn nicht auf eine zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht nachgewiesene persönliche Vorgeschichte, zumindest als Ausdruck der Dankbarkeit für die Gewährung eines Quartiers für die Zeit der Geburt und den ersten Monaten danach zu werten ist.

Diese Einschätzung galt meiner Überzeugung nach selbst für den Fall einer entgeltlichen Unterbringung – dann vermutlich finanziert vom Kindsvater (Johann) Georg Friedrich Benz bzw. dessen Familie.

Offen blieb bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt jedoch die Frage der Querverbindung der beiden Tauf- und Trauzeugen zueinander.

Unwahrscheinlich, dass der Handwerker Axtmann den wirtschaftlich besser situierten Unternehmer Kramer aus regelmässigen Besuchen in dessen Gasthaus kannte.

Hierfür fehlten Zeit, Geld und die zwingende Notwendigkeit. Schließlich befand sich in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der im damaligen Zentrum der Stadt Karlsruhe liegenden Spitalstraße 38, Wohnanschrift Axtmanns, eine Vielzahl von Lokalitäten.

Eher war für mich der umgekehrte Fall denkbar. Dass nämlich Kramer den Weg vom außerhalb gelegenen Mühlburg auf sich nahm, um sich mit Schuhen zu versorgen bzw. vorhandene aufzubereiten.

Ebenso vorstellbar ist ein Hinweis, welchen Axtmann in einer Karlsruher Wirtschaft erhielt, wie dass umgekehrt ein Familienmitglied oder Berufskollege in Mühlburg lebte und den Kontakt herstellte.

Von einer verwandtschaftlichen Beziehung Kramers zur Familie Benz ist jedenfalls nicht auszugehen.

Was wir jedoch seit Anfang Mai wissen – bei der Urgroßmutter von Carl Benz handelt es sich um eine gebürtige Axtmann. Und somit schließt sich zumindest der offene Punkt der genealogischen Verbindung der Familien Benz und Axtmann.

Daher ist die historische Aufarbeitung auch nicht gänzlich abgeschlossen.

Und wer weiß, welche Überraschung uns noch erwartet ?

Wie dem auch sei – ohne das Engagement und der hochprofessionellen Arbeitseinstellung von Herrn Dr. Pretsch und seinem wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter, Herrn Meinrad Welker, wären wir unabsehbar auf dem Stand von 1844 geblieben.

Dass dem nicht so blieb, dafür gebührt mein aufrichtiger Dank !

Karlsruhe, im April 2011

Weitere Informationen zum Download

Unterstützt von

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'wfWAFStorageFileException' with message 'Unable to verify temporary file contents for atomic writing.' in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:46 Stack trace: #0 /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(567): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/kunden/177302_...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig() #2 {main} thrown in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 46