Tribut an Carl Benz e.V. Karlsruhe

Gerhard Richter’s “Corvette” (original title: Ferrari/1964)

The picture “Ferrari” by Gerhard Richter (a foreword)

In September 2009, I made a visit to the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth, Texas.

There I looked to the Ferrari” entitled picture, which for me was (in contradistinction to “Alfa Romeo” and “zwei (two) Fiat”) unknown.

My attempt of an explanation by the museum staff only led to the conclusion, I was not the first, questioning.

More than a year later, I got the reference to the Archive Richter in Dresden.

Thereafter, everything went very fast.

An attempt at an explanation 46 years later (updated January 2012)

A small series of photos, which were taken in 1964 (“Ferrari” and “Two Fiats”) and 1965 (“Alfa Romeo”), emerged in addition to the early photo-realistic works of German painter Gerhard Richter, leading artist in the Kunstkompass 2010 (ranking of the 100 most important living artists).

While at least one of the “Two Fiats” could actually be a vehicle made by this particular manufacturer (Series 1300/1500), based on the roof shape and rear of the car, merely a slight uncertainly exists with “Alfa Romeo” (Giulia TZ 1) concerning the correct model – however not the manufacturer’s designation.

The most conclusive is the identification of the vehicle depicted in “Ferrari”.

Richter-Ferrari (Original Image)

Richter-Ferrari (Original Image)

Only that it clearly is not a Ferrari. The test report on a Corvette “Split Window” by Auto Motor und Sport magazine (issue 15/1963) actually formed the basis of the artistic adaptation.

This inevitably raises the question regarding background and sense of the disassociation by name. Particularly since the incorrect manufacturer’s designation is very easily recognizable in this case, as mentioned earlier. Furthermore, it is not just “any” car, but a great American icon – as American as Coca Cola and Rock ‘n’ Roll. More importantly, it is the originator of an entire generation of the “Sting Ray” version of a motor vehicle ennobled across the great pond as “the true American sports car”.

On the other hand, it is difficult for a Ferrari owner or fan to understand why a vehicle, which wasn’t even produced in Europe (let alone Italy), would usurp the Ferrari name. Sacrilegious, like calling a pizza Margarita a hot dog.

Perish the thought. For one thing, it has not (yet) been fully clarified if the naming was based on a deliberate provocation, or if it was merely wishful thinking. On the other hand, it is easy to forget that the Corvette idea was just ten years old at the time – far away from today’s legendary status, it being virtually “unknown“ in Europe.

The Ferrari has long been an epitome of the sports car par excellence, synonymous with the unfulfilled dreams of men. Finally yet importantly, one cannot deny that the Corvette pictured does bear a slight resemblance to the Ferrari 250 GT “Berlinetta” produced during that time or the discontinued 250 GT “California”.

The story certainly would have been different if it had been established, shortly after creation, that this piece would be bought by a Texas museum, or was planned from the outset as a commissioned project for a U.S. American buyer.

An elucidation through a corresponding publication would have then been the result. Therefore, this piece did not become the property of the “Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth” until 1997.

The title of the picture “Ferrari” has now been recorded in the catalog of works and will not be changed. Perhaps it is reassuring for those, who have searched the Internet for relevant literature or, as I in situ, have attempted to find an explanation for this not necessarily logically contradictory, but factually wrong and manifestly absurd designation; and also not after having found an answer to date even through intensive “googling”.

The long overdue thematization of this anomaly may bear the answer to all unanswered questions – by the only person who comes into question here – the artist Gerhard Richter himself.

Karlsruhe, Germany – November 2010

Update, January 2012

The opportunity to visit the Gerhard Richter Archiv, an institution of the Staatliche Kunstsammlung Dresden, presented itself more than two years after my stay in Fort Worth.

The original edition of the Corvette test report is now part of the collection, as the artist frequently made use of magazines or journals as a template for artistic adaptations during his career (these are archived as an attestation to this fact).

I was also afforded the chance to examine the original “two Fiat” documentation, which in fact was a part of a “Sarotti” chocolate advertisement.

The allocated naming is definitely of an abstract nature (in this case as well) given the fact that the original document pertaining to these two vehicles is just as “blurred” as the actual painting itself (also referred to as “The Master of the Blur”). Only with great effort was I able to identify one of the vehicles as a Ford 12 m, without actually being one hundred percent sure in the process. As a result, Gerhard Richter certainly did not waste any time whatsoever searching for the corresponding vehicle manufacturer.

This would explain the putative “negligence” in naming the painting “Ferrari”. After all, only the dynamics of the original document had fascinated the artist: And since this obviously was a fast car, the term “Ferrari”, as a synonym, presented itself far better than “Corvette”.

Nevertheless, I am more than happy with these results.

Firstly because Richter was not consciously aware of the “improper title” up until now.

Secondly, in light of this discovery, he stated that he did not intend to change or supplement the name with the word “Corvette”, as the painting is very well known in the art scene under its original name (which is his prerogative, of course).

My questions of 2010 were therefore answered in full.

Thirdly, my discovery supplemented the first volume of his “Catalogue Raisonné” upon its release date as an explanatory image from “Auto Motor und Sport.”

In conclusion, the Richter confidant and head of the Gerhard Richter Archive, Dr. Elger, ycleped my research results as exemplary for the exciting activities undertaken while researching the background and work genesis of this exceptional artist.

Arnt-M. Bokemüller

I wish to thank the following individuals for their non-bureaucratic research support:

Mrs. Küster and Dr. Elger of the Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden, Institut Archiv Gerhard Richter

Mr. Kai Konietzko of Klassiker Teile, Berlin for providing photo materials of AMS

Unterstützt von

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'wfWAFStorageFileException' with message 'Unable to verify temporary file contents for atomic writing.' in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:46 Stack trace: #0 /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(567): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/kunden/177302_...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig() #2 {main} thrown in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 46

Tribut an Carl Benz e.V. Karlsruhe

Gerhard Richters „Corvette“ (Originaltitel Ferrari/1964)

Vorwort zum Bild „Ferrari“ von Gerhard Richter

Im September 2009 besuchte ich das Modern Art Museum in Fort Worth, Texas.

Dort sah ich das mit „Ferrari“ betitelte Bild, welches mir (im Gegensatz zu „Alfa Romeo“ und „zwei Fiat“) nicht bekannt war.

Mein Versuch einer Erklärung durch Mitarbeiter des Museums führte lediglich zu dem Ergebnis, dass ich nicht der Erste wäre, welcher Zweifel an der richtigen Bezeichnung äußerte.

Mehr als ein Jahr verging, bevor ich den Hinweis auf das Richter Archiv in Dresden erhielt. Danach ging alles sehr schnell.

Ein Erklärungsversuch 46 Jahre danach (aktualisiert Januar 2012)

Zu den fotorealistischen Frühwerken des deutschen Malers Gerhard Richter, führender im Kunstkompass 2010 (Rangliste der 100 wichtigsten lebenden Künstler) gehört eine kleine Reihe von Autobildern, welche in den Jahren 1964 („Ferrari“ und „Zwei Fiat“), sowie 1965 („Alfa Romeo“) entstanden.

Während es sich wenigstens bei einem der „Zwei Fiat“ an Hand Dachform und Heckpartie tatsächlich um Fahrzeuge dieses Herstellers (Typenreihe 1300/1500) handeln könnte, besteht bei „Alfa Romeo“ (Giulia TZ 1) lediglich eine leichte Unsicherheit an der korrekten Typ – nicht jedoch an der Herstellerbezeichnung.

Am Eindeutigsten ist die Identifikation des abgebildeten Fahrzeuges bei „Ferrari“.

Richter-Ferrari (Originalbild)

Richter-Ferrari (Originalbild)

Nur, dass es sich hier zweifelsfrei nicht um einen solchen handelt. Tatsächlich bildete der Testbericht einer Corvette „Split Window“ aus Auto Motor und Sport (Ausgabe 15/1963) Basis der künstlerischen Bearbeitung.

Zwangsläufig stellt sich die Frage nach Hintergründen und Sinn der namentlichen Verfremdung. Zumal, wie bereits erwähnt, die nicht korrekte Herstellerbezeichnung in diesem Fall sehr einfach zu erkennen ist. Darüber hinaus handelt es sich nicht um „irgendein“ Automobil, sondern um eine Ur-Amerikanische Ikone. So typisch wie Coca Cola und der Rock´n Roll. Zudem Urvater einer ganzen Generation „Sting Ray“ genannter Ausführungen des auf der anderen Seite des großen Teichs unwidersprochen als „ the true american sports car“ geadelten Sportwagens.

Andererseits ist es einem Ferrari Besitzer oder Fan schwer zu vermitteln, warum ausgerechnet ein Fahrzeug, welches nicht einmal in Europa (geschweige Italien) produziert wurde, sich den Namen Ferrari anmaßt. Sakrilegisch, wie eine Pizza Margarita als Hot Dog zu bezeichnen.

Doch ein derartiger Gedankengang verbietet sich. Zum einen ist es (noch) nicht abschließend geklärt, inwieweit der Namensgebung eine bewusste Provokation oder das genaue Gegenteil einer Wunschvorstellung zu Grunde lag. Zum anderen vergisst man leicht, dass die Idee der Corvette zu dieser Zeit gerade einmal zehn Jahre alt und somit weit entfernt des heutigen Legendenstatus war. Zudem in Europa nahezu unbekannt.

Da war ein Ferrari längst Inbegriff des Sportwagens schlechthin und Synonym für unerfüllte Männerträume. Last but not least ist der abgebildeten Corvette eine entfernte Ähnlichkeit mit dem ebenfalls zu dieser Zeit produzierten Ferrari 250 GT „Berlinetta“ oder dem kurz zuvor eingestellten 250 GT „California“ nicht ganz abzusprechen.

Sicher wäre die Geschichte anders verlaufen, wenn kurz nach Entstehung bereits festgestanden hätte, dass dieses Werk von einem texanischen Museum erworben werden würde, bzw. von vornherein als Auftragsarbeit für einen US amerikanischen Erwerber geplant war.

Dann wäre durch entsprechende Publikation eine Aufklärung erfolgt. So ging dieses Werk erst im Jahr 1997 in den Besitz des „Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth“ über.

Der Titel des Bildes „Ferrari“ ist mittlerweile in das Werkverzeichnis eingegangen und wird auch nicht mehr geändert. Vielleicht ist es aber eine Beruhigung für all jene, welche entweder im Internet, einschlägiger Literatur oder wie ich „vor Ort“ ob dieser, nicht unbedingt logisch widersprüchlichen, jedoch sachlich offenkundig falschen und widersinnigen Benennung verzweifelt nach einer Erklärung suchten. Und diese selbst bei intensivsten „googlen“ bis dato nicht fanden.

Mehr noch – die überfällige Thematisierung dieses Ungereimtheit hat vielleicht die Beantwortung der offenen Fragen durch den einzigen Menschen zur Folge, welcher hierfür in Frage kommt – der Künstler Gerhard Richter selbst.

Karlsruhe, im November 2010

Aktualisierung vom Januar 2012

Gut zwei Jahre nach meinem Aufenthalt in Fort Worth bot sich die Gelegenheit eines Besuchs im Gerhard Richter Archiv, einer Institution der Staatlichen Kunstsammlung zu Dresden.

Da der Künstler in seiner Laufbahn Illustrierte oder Zeitschriften des Öfteren als Vorlage für eine künstlerische Bearbeitung nutzte (welche als Nachweis archiviert werden), gehört mittlerweile die Originalausgabe des Testberichtes der Corvette zum Fundus.

Dabei konnte ich auch die Originalvorlage der „zwei Fiat“, tatsächlich Bestandteil einer Schokoladenwerbung der Firma „Sarotti“ in Augenschein zu nehmen.

Da jedoch bereits die Originalvorlage dieser beiden Fahrzeuge ähnlich „verwischt“ wie das eigentliche Gemälde ist (man nennt ihn daher auch “Master of the Blur” für verschwommen/verwischen), ist die gewählte Namensgebung (auch in diesem Fall) definitiv abstrakter Natur. Eines der Fahrzeuge habe ich selbst nur mit viel Mühe als einen Ford 12 m identifiziert. Ohne dabei hundertprozentig sicher zu sein. Gerhard Richter hat daher garantiert keine Zeit mit der Suche nach dem korrekten Fahrzeughersteller verschwendet.

So erklärt sich auch die vermeintliche „Nachlässigkeit“ bei der Namensgebung des Gemäldes „Ferrari“. Denn einzig die Dynamik der Originalvorlage faszinierte den Künstler: Und da es sich um ein offenkundig schnelles Fahrzeug handelte, bot sich der Begriff „Ferrari“ hierfür als Synonym weit besser an, als der einer „Corvette“.

Trotzdem darf ich mit dem nun vorliegenden Ergebnis mehr als zufrieden sein.

Denn erstens war Richter der „falsche Titel“ bis dato bewusster Maßen nicht bekannt. Das ist erst jetzt klar geworden.

Zweitens hat er in Folge dieser Entdeckung erklärt, dieses in der Kunstszene unter dem einmal gewählten Namen überaus bekannte Gemälde namentlich weder zu ändern, noch um einen Zusatz „Corvette“ zu ergänzen (was sein gutes Recht ist).

Somit wurden meine Fragen von Ende 2010 vollumfänglich beantwortet.

Drittens konnte meine Entdeckung noch rechtzeitig zum Erscheinungsdatum des ersten Bandes seines „Catalogue Raisonné“ genannten Werkverzeichnisses um das erläuternde Reinbild aus „Auto Motor und Sport“ ergänzt werden.

Und last but not least wird das Ergebnis meiner Recherche beim Richter Vertrauten und Leiter des Gerhard Richter Archivs, Herrn Dr. Elger, mittlerweile auch exemplarisch für die spannende Tätigkeit bei der Erforschung zu Hintergründen und Entstehung der Arbeiten dieses Ausnahmekünstlers genannt.

Arnt-M. Bokemüller

Für die unbürokratische Unterstützung dieser Recherche bedanke ich mich bei

Frau Küster und Herrn Dr. Elger von der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden, Institut Archiv Gerhard Richter

Herrn Kai Konietzko von Klassiker Teile, Berlin für die Bereitstellung von Bildmaterial AMS

Unterstützt von

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'wfWAFStorageFileException' with message 'Unable to verify temporary file contents for atomic writing.' in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:46 Stack trace: #0 /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(567): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/kunden/177302_...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig() #2 {main} thrown in /kunden/177302_76297/rp-hosting/25/34/tribut-an-carl-benz.de/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 46